Posted by: fictionopia | January 15, 2009

1.09 – “I’ve got my own plan now.”

Lying on the chaise in the den, her new favorite thinking spot, Sarah struggled to stay focused. Perched on her chest was a copy of “What Color is Your Parachute? 2008” but Sarah’s thoughts were on Max and their meeting the previous day. Sarah was relieved when Kate came in the room and flopped onto a nearby ottoman.

“So, what color is it?” Kate asked, gesturing towards Sarah’s book.

“No idea,” sighed Sarah, “I’ve read the same paragraph four times now.”

“Give,” Kate insisted. ‘Give’ had been Sarah and Kate’s version of “penny for your thoughts” since they were children.

“I’m just wondering if it means something. If there had been no horoscope and I asked Max for his cell phone, wouldn’t the outcome have been the same? But I never would have asked for his phone without the horoscope.”

Sitting up, Sarah withdrew from her book the horoscope she clipped from the newspaper. Sarah continued.”Kate, you are the most rational, practical, level-headed person around, but don’t you think–”

“Don’t go giving me too much credit. I’ve leapt before I’ve looked.”

“I think history will forgive your purchase of an HD-DVD player.”

“Funny. But I wasn’t talking about my choice of consumer electronics.” Kate paused before explaining, “I was talking about David.”

“Okay, you two did fall in love in, like, an hour. And for the last three months you’ve been happier than I’ve ever seen you .”

“I know, but sometimes I think maybe it’s been too much too fast.”

“Since when do you think that?”

“Since the other day when David asked me to move in with him.”

Sarah’s jaw dropped. “Shut up!” she said excitedly. “What did you say?”

“I told him I needed to think about it. But I don’t I know. David wasn’t part of The Plan.”

“Good grief. Not “The Plan.” You wrote that when you were 12!”

Kate moved from the ottoman and sat next to Sarah on the chaise. “And I’ve followed it ever since. I finished college at 22, law school at 25 and got a job in local government. I was supposed to meet my husband at 30, get married, have two kids, and hold a public office before I turned 40. That’s The Plan.”

“Then you need a new Plan. One that includes David.” Sarah said.

Kate hugged Sarah tightly before asking, “But where does that leave you? We’re supposed to be roommates. It says so right in The Plan.”

“Don’t worry about me.” Waving the horoscope at Kate, Sarah joked, “I’ve got my own plan now.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

