Posted by: fictionopia | February 4, 2009

2.03 – “I know. I’m having the prime rib.”

Sarah made a mental to do list for the next day as she prepared to leave work. She was looking forward to getting home and doing absolutely nothing. Feeling a little guilty for it, she was also looking forward to having a break from her mom.

She was about halfway to the subway when her phone rang. It was her mom.

I asked for that one, Sarah thought. “Hi mom. How was your flight?”

“It was good, sweetie. You girls okay?”

“We’re fine.”

“That’s good.”

Sarah rummaged in her purse for her subway Metrocard when she felt something stick to her finger. It was the sticky note on which she’d written Mr. Smiley’s book recommendation. Sarah got an idea.

“Mom, you’ll be happy to know that I’m ‘following through’ as we speak. I’m going to pick up a book someone recommended to me.”

“Well, that’s not why I called. But okay,” Melody said, sounding pleased.

After the call ended, Sarah looked at the piece of paper in her hand. “Great, now she’s going to want to see the book when she gets home. And I’m standing in the street talking to myself.”

The nearest bookstore was about ten blocks away. Sarah could walk then take the train home from there. But another phone call, this one from Kate, changed Sarah’s plans.

“I really need to talk.” Kate said.

“Are you okay?”

“Meet me for dinner?” Kate gave Sarah the address of the restaurant. It wasn’t far, but it was in the opposite direction from the bookstore. Sarah decided her errand would have to wait. Kate didn’t sound like she could.

Sarah reached the small steakhouse and soon saw despondent Kate seated at a table.

“I think David’s having second thoughts about us living together,” Kate said as Sarah sat down.

“Oh, Kate, I thought there was really something wrong.”

“Sarah, I’m serious.” Kate did sound serious.

“Did you two have a fight?”

“Several fights. David said he would make more room for me as I replaced the stuff I lost in the fire. Only he hasn’t yet. The other day he came home while I was trying to make room in a closet for a few new sweaters. He got upset and said he didn’t want me ‘going through his things.'”

“That doesn’t even sound like David.”

“He won’t let me put my things anywhere. The closet, the dresser, even the pantry, for Pete’s sake.”

“Kate, you need to talk to him.”

“I would but I’m afraid we’d get into another argument. I was hoping you could…”

“Kate, I so do not want to be in the middle of this.”

“Then I don’t know what to do.” After a pause, Kate quietly asked, “Sarah, do you think Aunt Mel will let me move back in with you guys?”

“Of course she will, but,” Sarah gave a deep sigh, “why don’t I talk to David before you pack?”

“Sarah, I owe you for this.”

“I know. I’m having the prime rib.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

